What Types of Things Can Be Trademarked?

What types of things can be trademarked? I’m Angela Langlotz, trademark and copyright attorney, and I go live to answer your trademark and copyright law questions.

So people often ask me, what types of things can be trademarked? Well, anything. So anything: Any good, any service, any product that you have created or want to create can be trademarked. We say registered as a trademark.  And you can associate your brand, which can be your name or your logo or your slogan or your phrase, with that good or service that you’re offering to other people.

The trademark office has divided the entire universe of goods and services up into 45 different, they call them international classes. For example, cosmetics are in class 3, and supplements are in class 5, and clothing is in class 25, and coaching services are in class 41, and on and on. If you name any type of product or any type of service, it can be found in the trademark manual of goods and services, and it has been classified into one of those 45 international classes by the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

One of the most important things that I do as a trademark attorney is to make sure that before we file, we know exactly how to describe the goods to the trademark examiner. Because if we don’t do that, the examiner has no idea what goods and services we want to associate with the trademark. And as I said a couple of days ago, there is no such thing as a trademark for everything. So when we file, we must describe the goods and services sufficiently for the examiner to know, AHA, they want to use this mark with these goods and services. It’s also important to properly classify the goods and services because I need to do a trademark clearance search.

So if you tell me that you’re using the trademark for hair brushes, that is different than using the trademark for paint brushes or brushes for car alternators. There are all kinds of brushes or brushes for cleaning, right? So we really need to make sure to nail down the goods and services that you want to register your trademark for. And that is one of the most important things that I do as the trademark attorney. So I talk with the client, I figure out how they want to use it. Maybe we even brainstorm some other opportunities for them to expand their trademark rights by including more classes of goods and services in the trademark application.

If you would like to know more about trademark and copyright law, please like and follow me. I do trademark videos every week and I have a YouTube channel. You can go search and find me online at trademarkdoctor.Net. I’m also on YouTube and on Facebook.

I’m on Facebook! “Like” my facebook page,  to be notified every time I go LIVE. Do you have trademark questions? Message me on the Trademark Doctor Facebook page, and I’ll answer your questions on a future Live video.

Contact Dallas, Texas trademark attorney Angela Langlotz today to get started on a trademark application for your valuable brand.

The post What Types of Things Can Be Trademarked? first appeared on .

Leave a comment